Home Page

Governing Body

What do Governors do?
Weare Academy school governors are drawn from different parts of the community; they are parents, staff, and members of the local neighbourhood. This helps to ensure that the governing body has sufficient diversity of views and experience.   We don’t as governors interfere in the day-to-day teaching and running of the school, but as governors we are committed to school welfare and improvement. In consultation with the head teacher and other staff, our main responsibilities are to:


  • set aims and agree policies, targets and objectives for the school
  • support and challenge decisions
  • help determine the ethos of the school
  • agree how to spend the school budget
  • appoint new head teachers and assist in the recruitment of other staff


How does the governing body work?
There are normally six to eight meetings a year which involve the full governing body. We hear reports from the head teacher, other members of staff and from the various committees about the work they have been doing. We ask questions, make decisions, comment on proposals, offer advice and act as a sounding board for ideas. Our objective is always to arrive at the best solution for the school. 

We monitor specific objectives listed on the School Development Plan so each Governor will be responsible for monitoring an initiative in, for example: Literacy, Numeracy, Special Educational Needs etc. This allows governors to focus on a particular area and work more closely with the relevant teachers and to then feed back to the full governing body.

How can I get more information?

The current members of our school governing body are listed below.  Please feel free to contact one of them if you would like any more information.  


  • Matt O'Connor(Chair of the Board of Governors and Foundation Governor)
  • Lucy Clapp (Vice Chair of Governors)
  • Jackie Wright (Chair of Finance)
  • John O'Brien
  • James Halford
  • Ryan Scantlebury
  • Paul Weaver (Foundation Governor)
  • Michelle Sims
  • Jenny Mason
  • Denise Mawdsley (Headteacher)
  • Felicity Gibb (Staff Governor)


Note that all governors appointed prior to 1st September 2016 have been reappointed from 1st September 2016, as Local Governing Body for Weare Academy First School, Wessex Learning Trust.

Picture 1 John O'Brien appointed 5/4/11
Picture 2 Matt O'Connor appointed 1/9/14
Picture 3 James Halford appointed 9/3/15
Picture 4 Ryan Scantlebury appointed 9/3/14
Picture 5 Denise Mawdsley Head teacher
Picture 6 Paul Weaver appointed 7/3/16
Picture 7 Felicity Gibb appointed 25/1/16
Picture 8 Jackie Wright appointed 23/11/15
Picture 9 Lucy Clapp appointed 3/10/16
Picture 10 Michelle Sims appointed 3/10/16
Picture 11 Jenny Mason appointed 3/10/16

Governor Committees


Finance Committee: Jackie Wright (Chair), John O'Brien, Paul Weaver, Denise Mawdsley and Lisa Stacey (Finance Officer)


HR/Pay Committee: Lucy Clapp (Chair), John O'Brien, Denise Mawdsley


Standards Committee: Michelle Sims, John O'Brien, Felicity Gibb, Denise Mawdsley


Health and Safety Committee: Denise Mawdsley (Chair), Matt O'Connor, Lisa Stacey (Finance Officer)  and Charles Toogood (caretaker)


Ethos Committee: Paul Weaver (Chair), Reverend Judith Jeffery, Felicity Gibb, Denise Mawdsley



Governors newly appointed, beginning 3rd October 2016

Michelle Simms

Lucy Clapp

Jenny Mason


Governors ending service during 2016/17

Charlie Ainge 8/2/17


Governors serving during the period of: 1st September 2015 until August 31st 2016


Matt O'Connor (Member) (appointed 1/9/14- still serving)

John O'Brien (Member) (appointed 5/4/2011- still serving)

Glen Boxer (appointed 1/7/2012- 25/01/15)

Margaret Jordan (Member) (appointed 1/12/2012- 3/10/16)

Jackie Wright (appointed 23/11/15- still serving)

Caroline Burgess (appointed 1/12/2013-2/10/2015)

Sara Packer 10/12/2012- 2/10/2015)

Sarah Steed (Member) (appointed 1/9/14- 3/10/16)

Ryan Scantlebury (appointed 9/3/15- still serving)

James Halford (appointed 9/3/15- still serving)

Denise Mawdsley (Member) (head teacher)

Charlie Ainge (appointed 25/1/16- 8/2/17)

Felicity Gibb (appointed 25/1/16- still serving)

Angela Tatton (appointed 25/1/16- 3/10/16)

Paul Weaver (appointed 7/3/16- still serving)